Alanna Josie's Profile

Experience Summary

I am currently a full-time, second-year student at AUT, studying towards my Bachelor of Design, majoring in Textiles for Fashion. I have an outgoing and energetic personality, and I am very personable and love to meet new people and engage in adventurous activities (hiking, mountain biking, white-water rafting, mountaineering). I have won a couple of scholarships and awards; I was the first and only recipient of the Tauranga Artists Society Scholarship for excellence in design and art, and a few academic awards (Kane Sedcole Scholarship + a few more), and in my final year of High School, I received the highest award for top of Art + Design. In February 2012, I will be moving to Kolkata, India, for 12 months to volunteer at Freeset, where I will be Product Designer, designing images to be screen-printed onto t-shirts and bags made by women freed from the Red Light district of Sonagachi. So currently I am pursuing flexible job opportunities so that I can earn some funds to support myself while I am there, and so I can continue with fundraising over the summer. View my contact details, availability, and stats.

Key to icons:  Experienced  Interested in  Not experienced

Experience

Other Experience

Ambassador in Summer 2010/11 for APN's new newspaper 'Bay Summer' in Tauranga & Mt Maunganui, I am also a member of Red Frogs, which is a volunteer group that goes into parties and large areas where drunkenness and drug usage is high i.e. Auckland Viaduct, and we help keep the peace by being the eyes and ears for the Police and St. Johns.

Skills

Languages

First language: 

Extra Information

  • Greeter / Host(ess)

    A member of the Welcome Team at LIFE Central on Mt Eden Road, Auckland

  • Hospitality

    Catering and Waitressing at the RWC VIP pre-game dinners, waitressing at Circus Circus Cafe

  • In store

    Retail staff at Repertoire outlet sales

  • Security

    Security for Balloons over Waikato

  • Car Driving Licence

    Full Licence - DJ250065

  • Computer Skills (Novice)

    Adobe Photoshop (Intermediate) + Illustrator (beginner), Microsoft Powerpoint (beginner) + Word (Intermediate)

  • Face Painting

    I am generally skilled with a paintbrush/pen, so any canvas, be it paper or skin, I can adapt easily.

  • First Aid Certificate

    I have had a recent SAM (Save A Mate) training session.

  • Qualified Dancer

    Level 6+ Tap Dancing

  • Roller Skating / Blading

    I have done figure skating in the past (not on ice), and have been competitive in rollerblading, so I am very confident on a pair of skates.